Geek Alert

My not so secret addition is to play computer games, especially adventure games. They are mostly story –driven games who works through interactive stories. I feel that is like reading a book but being part of the action. The ones that I prefer are called Point-and-Click games, which self explains the controls on the game. You point and click on what you want to do in order to advance on the story. Yeahhh I know that it sounds boring, but it is actually really interesting. Unfortunately this genre has been pronounced dead. Luckily, some are trying to revive the genre so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

I’ll give you my top 4 list:

4 – Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis – Really entertaining, good dialogues, different endings depending on how you choose to play it. It get aggravated with the moonstone and sunstone puzzles, but the rest is great.

indiana Jones

3- Gabriel Knight Series – There are 3 games in this (Sins of the Fathers, The Best Within and Blood of the Sacred, Blood of the Doomed). Amazing stories where you learn a lot. Hated the graphics on the 2nd and 3rd game, but still have played several times. On the 2nd game you go to Germany, especially Munich. It was great when I actually was there for the first time and recognized places and the history from the game. On th 3rd you have an amazing puzzle called the Le Serpent rouge. It’s amazing. Jane Jenson is the creator of these stories, and hands down for her. Best stories ever.Garbiel knight

2 – Monkey Island Series – Extremely funny and absurd, but still relatable. It’s about a wannabe pirate named Guybrush Threepwood. There are 4 games from this series (I’m not counting the Telltale Games). I personally prefer the first ones, but all of them are great fun. I played them over and over again and still have a blast.monkey island

1 – Longest Journey Series – For me the best game ever. There are 3 games on this series. The first one, the longest Journey, the 2nd – Dreamfall, and the one that is still ongoing – Dreamfall Chapters. The Dreamfall ones are very different from the First, in terms of gameplay, but I still loved them. The stories, the music, the dialogues, and the altogether feeling of the games are great.

longest journey

Why only 4? Because I can’t decide which one I should put on nr 5. The ones that didn’t make the cut were:

Syberia Games– Story is nice, graphics are nice, but the gameplay is very limited. It looked like I was listening to a story.

Blackwell Series – I’m still finishing playing the 5th game. I’m loving this so far. I’m just waiting to finish to insert on my top 4.

Broken Sword Series– I haven’t played the recent ones. The first ones I liked them, but didn’t love. Still play them when I don’t have anything else to play.

Grim Fandango – It’s great, but I can’t connect to the story. Don’t know why.

The book of Unwritten Tales Games – Great game that is quite recent. But I found it a bit obvious on the way that we had to do the puzzles.

Sanitarium – Started off great, it got lost in the middle. But still great and surprising story.

Life is Strange – It’s a recent game that is still ongoing. I’m really enjoying this one

I’ll be doing my reviews of the games I’m playing at the moment. Hopefully I find some friends and not fell so alone. I would love to get to know more people who share the same interest or are curious to try it out.

2 thoughts on “Geek Alert

  1. Pingback: Blackwell Series | obscurasomnia

  2. Pingback: The Sword is not Broken – Review | obscurasomnia

Help me out on this one

