Planning ahead

I used to be spontaneous. I used to go with the flow and make it as it goes.

My boyfriend is the opposite. He likes to plan everything. He used to sit down on Friday night and plan what we were supposed to do on the weekend. I felt that trapped. I couldn’t enjoy the weekend knowing that I had this and that to do. It really ruined my weekend.

Nowadays I feel that it’s hard to keep being spontaneous. I end up not doing anything. So I plan my days and make lists. To go to the gym I need to plan ahead, check if my boyfriend is available to pick up our daughter and prepare the dinner for that day. I stress less if I write a to do list to organize myself.

I’m still mourning the loss of my spontaneity but I do a lot more when I plan things.

My boyfriend will laugh when he reads this, because I used to get so pissed at him with his planning.

Do you feel that you have also lost your spontaneity as you get older?

2 thoughts on “Planning ahead

  1. I feel like I’m actually more spontaneous than I was before. I mean, just a little bit more. I also like having everything planned out and structured, like a bridge. I think because I’m like that, it made me a bit more spontaneous now because I know that if I were to jump on the bridge, it wouldn’t fall apart. It’s like having a safety net makes me more comfortable taking chances. (If that makes sense.)

    Liked by 1 person

Help me out on this one

