Sharp Objects, a Tale of Horror and Pain

dark objects

After reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, which I truly loved, I wanted to read more from this author. so I’ve bought and just finished reading Sharp Objects, her debut novel.

In Sharp Objects we follow Camille Preaker, a reporter for a small Newspaper, going back to her hometown, because of the murders of one little girl and the disappearance of another. As normal, the plot then thickens and we have our own protagonist surrounded by evil.

sharp objects 2

Everything about the book is intriguing. I found myself totally absorbed in the perverted town and the portrait of the characters, while being scared shit of the adolescents of the book.

While in Gone Girl, I had no idea whatsoever of the plot twist and was completely taken by surprise ( I tried really hard and managed to succeed in not hearing anything about the book or movie), on Sharp Objects, I figured it out since the early stages that the killer had to be one or the other. It didn’t affect in any way the thrilling experience that is reading this book.

sharp objects 3

Gillian Flynn manages to write about a character that is painfully broken in any way possible but still so strong that lived and survived her nightmarish childhood. To escape, Camille turns her body into a living narrative of the words that haunt her daily. For me, this was really well explained throughoutthe book. I could feel that need to write on her coming at certain parts of the story, slowly whispering in the narrative.

Camille’s beauty is contrasted perfectly with her imperfect body, carved by her dark pain.

“Every time people said I was pretty, I thought of everything ugly swarming beneath my clothes.”

I’m not sure what the author has against women in general, since this book and Gone Girl targeted psychotic and twisted women, but please keep on coming.

I’m going to buy Dark Places, but first I need to breathe for a while. Sharp Objects was complex, terrifying and totally absorbing. I need to stand back, read Maeve Binchy for a while, which I love….and doesn’t portrait scary dark characters.

“Sometimes I think illness sits inside every woman, waiting for the right moment to bloom. I have known so many sick women all my life. Women with chronic pain, with ever-gestating diseases. Women with conditions. Men, sure, they have bone snaps, they have backaches, they have a surgery or two, yank out a tonsil, insert a shiny plastic hip. Women get consumed.”

 

 

 

Help me out on this one

